RAMMY Awards bring out the best foodies in D.C.

rammy's blog image
Image found on brightestyoungthings.com

In case you missed it, The Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) 35th annual RAMMY Awards Gala last Sunday was not just a big party but a great way to recognize the restaurant and foodservice industry leaders in the area. Since 1982, RAMW has hosted the gala to convene the thousands of stand-out innovators and entrepreneurs on the D.C. restaurant scene.

Between eating and celebrating in style, iconic and emerging brands were honored throughout the night at the Walter E. Convention Center.

Since DC has increasingly become known as a “foodie” city with deep culture and exciting bites, the RAMMYs have grown in importance and the list of winners has evolved to include established names such as minibar by Jose Andres (ThinkFoodGroup), Cava Grill (Cava Group, Inc), and The Source by Wolfgang Puck (Wolfgang Puck Inc.) as well as new concepts like Masseria and Hazel.

As a partner of Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) and the National Restaurant Association (NRA), we at Fishbowl extend our congratulations to all of the night’s winners and nominees and recognize their innovation both in the back and front of house.  If you’re local to D.C. or find yourself in the nation’s capital, a list of winners is included below to help plan out your next dinner date; you can also find the full list of 2017 RAMMY Award Finalists on the event website. Fishbowl is extremely proud of our partners and neighbors who continue to drive innovation for the restaurant industry!

Employee of the Year: Joseph Cassis, PassionFish Bethesda

Manager of the Year: John Grace, The Hamilton

Rising Culinary Star of the Year: Ryan Ratino, Ripple

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year: DC Brau Brewing Company

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year: Pearl Dive Oyster Palace

Upscale Brunch of the Year: Convivial

Casual Brunch of the Year: Republic

Favorite Fast Bites of the Year: Cava Grill

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: Proof

Casual Restaurant of the Year: Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen

Beer Program of the Year: Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Cocktail Program of the Year: Kapnos by Mike Isabella

Wine Program of the Year: Charlie Palmer Steak

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: Acme Paper & Supply Co., Inc.

Pastry Chef of the Year: Jemil Gadea, Masseria

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: minibar by José Andrés

Service Program of the Year: The Source by Wolfgang Puck

New Restaurant of the Year: Hazel

Restaurateur of the Year: Ike Grigoropoulos, Dimitri Moshovitis, Ted Xenohristos, Brett Schulman, Cava Group, Inc

Chef of the Year: Tarver King, The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm

This blog was written by Alison Mayo, Fishbowl Sales Executive, Emerging Brands.